“I was in the Fellows during my first year in New York, and it was wonderful to have a little family of writer friends and mentors…And one of the best perks of the whole thing was the series of visits from veteran writers. Ten of us in a room with Doug Wright or Sarah Ruhl or Terrence McNally, picking the brains of our heroes in an intimate conference room, what could be more awesome?”
Playwright, Bookwriter, and DGF Fellows Alumna, Barefoot Persephone, String

2020-2021 Fellows

Calley N. Anderson, Aya Aziz, Christiana Cole, David Gomez, John-Michael Lyles, Dylan MarcAurele, Eliana Pipes,
Juan Ramirez, Jr., Mike Ross, and Regina Velázquez


Since its inception in 2000, the Fellows program has given over 160 writers a path forward in the industry, with several going on to achieve the highest levels of recognition in both theater and film.

Fellows alumni include Benj Pasek and Justin Paul (Dear Evan Hansen, The Greatest Showman, La La Land), Rajiv Joseph (Bengal Tiger at the Baghdad Zoo), Kristen Anderson-Lopez (Frozen, In Transit, Coco), Lauren Yee (The Great Leap, King of the Yees), Chisa Hutchinson (She Like Girls, The Wedding Gift), and many more.