DGF National Fellows Program Chairs

Bernardo Cubría, Playwriting Chair 

Learn More


Christine Toy Johnson, Musical Theater Chair

Learn More

About the DGF National Fellows Program

Our historic Fellows program has expanded to have a virtual offering for playwrights, composers, lyricists and librettists located across the United States. The Fellows program has traditionally only been offered to dramatists based in the tri-state area who could attend writing workshops and mentorship sessions in-person, but in DGF’s continued work to expand accessibility and resources for writers at all stages of their careers, the program will now offer a virtual option. Designed to eliminate historical barriers of entry, the Fellows program is a completely free program, hosted and designed by the Dramatists Guild Foundation. Support for DGF’s Fellows program has been generously provided by the Cornelia T. Bailey Foundation and Jeffrey Seller Family Foundation.

Until this year, the program has run exclusively in person in the heart of New York City, but the creation of a program that was accessible to writers across the country has been in process for many years. The challenge in this process was to create the camaraderie and community of in-person through a virtual format. During the pandemic, the program had to pivot to run effectively over digital platforms. This adjusted format became the pilot program for the National Fellows.